#TBT: My 25th Birthday

The best birthday that I remember was my 25th birthday. I figured that I would celebrate turning a quarter of a century in style. I had gone back to Spain for the summer and was living in Madrid with a host family. The weekend of my birthday I knew that I wanted to travel back to Sevilla, where I had studied abroad 4 years earlier, and meet up with some old friends and see some of my favorite places.

242

I had met online another girl who was in the same program as me and who was staying just outside of Madrid. She agreed that she wanted to travel there too, since she had never been, so I was excited to have someone to show around the city.

Since it was my birthday I decided not to take the cheap route to get to Sevilla, (a 6 hour bus ride for only 20 bucks) but instead I took a 2 hour train ride that cost significantly more. However, the day before was when there was a train accident in Spain, where a train from Madrid going to Santiago de Compostela in the north had just stirred up everyone in the country, but I figured I had too much luck on my side to let that stop me.

220

I arrived in the early afternoon and checked into the Architect hostel. The hostel location was perfect, as it was right in the center of the city, near all the tourist attractions, namely the Cathedral. I had just enough time to drop off my bag in my room before my one friend, Alvaro, called saying he was in the area and would like to meet up before he needed to head back to Huelva, where he was from.

I cleaned up and he picked my up from the hostel. We went and grabbed a coffee and reminisced about everything that had happened over the last few years. Even though 4 years had past, we spoke as if it was only yesterday we were having tapas at a local restaurant. I guess that is what it is like with old friends.

087344

Afterward, I waited for my new friend to arrive. I walked around the city a bit, remembering the streets that I used to frequent. I stopped and got some gelato and a churro relleno from a stand on the corner. It was my birthday after all, so I need some dessert.

Once my friend arrived, we stopped for a quick bite for dinner and then got ready to go out for the night. I met up with another old friend and his girlfriend and we all went to a festival that was being held on Calle Betis. If you don’t already know, Calle Betis is a street with only bars and restaurants on it, and then if you add on the thrill of a festival, it is quite the place to be on your birthday.

147

We spent the night eating, drinking, and dancing until the wee hours of the night. I remember coming back to our hostel and crashing into bed. I couldn’t have spent my birthday any other way. I went to sleep with a smile on my face that night.

Leave a Reply

