The Best Gelato

Now that summer is approaching, many people will being dreaming about ways to keep cool. One day recently at work we were having a debate about the differences between the kinds of frozen treats from frozen custard to ice cream to sorbet and gelato. I will say that even though Italy is claimed to be the inventor and maybe maestros of gelato, it is not the only place to get it. Here are some of the best places I’ve been to to get gelato, outside of the motherland.

087

  1. Heladeria La Fiorentina, Sevilla, Spain– This hidden gem is located right behind the Plaza Nueva in Sevilla. My favorite flavor is hierbabuena (spearmint) and frambuesa ( raspberry). To be honest, I prefer fruity flavors over others and I like it in a dish, not a cone (even though my photo shows otherwise).
  2. Divino Gelato, Waukesha, WI– This is one nobody would have expected. I believe I first went here after I had seen the movie Roman Holiday for the first time as a high schooler and decided to recreate my own holiday at home.  If you are ever in the Milwaukee area, the original shop is located in Downtown Waukesha on Main St. but it is also available in Brookfield Square Mall and now Racine too.
  3. Your own grocery storeUSA– One of the best brands out there is Talenti. I don’t know how they do it but even their Tahitian Vanilla Bean makes me want to come back for more. (I’m not a vanilla fan by any means…give me chocolate!) I have tried many of their flavors and love every single one! I try to limit buying it too often so I don’t eat it all in one sitting, because I could. So, stop reading this post and go treat yourself to one today!
Leave a Reply

