Top Things I Ate, Drank and Did in New Orleans

Over spring break I went to New Orleans hoping to find every great thing that it has to offer. I had been to New Orleans once before when I was a 14 year old on a school trip with the high school marching band so as you can imagine this trip was going to be verrryy different. I remembered that New Orleans is known for music, food and other shenanigans and so it was my mission to find all of those things. Here is a list of my top experiences:

EAT

French Market- The Crepe Cart I’ve had a few great crepes in my life and this one was pretty dang good. We tried s’mores, bacon and cheddar, and strawberries with nutella and coconut. You can order one of their combinations or custom make your own.


Truffles from Laura’s Candies– If you are looking to get a quick sweet treat Laura’s is the place to go. We got an assortment of truffles and they had plenty of pralines to taste test. I would recommend the Aztec Truffle that is made with cinnamon and chili peppers that gives it some heat.


DRINK

Coffee at Cafe du Monde– Forget the beignets and get the coffee! I took their recommendation and drank it black and since the flavor was so bold and delicious, I’d say you shouldn’t have it any other way. It is perfect for a midday pick-me-up or to have after a few adult beverages to keep you going.


Bourbon House Root Beer Float– This is the best idea I have ever heard of. Root beer float=delicious. Bourbon in it=even better. It was so delightful I had to get it twice!


Oyster Shooter at Acme Oyster House– I will admit that I was a little hesitant to swallow a shot of vodka with an oyster in it but the spicy cocktail sauce at the bottom was a nice chaser. I would definitely do it again.


DO

Preservation Hall– Even if you have to stand in line for over an hour, it is worth it. I knew I had see live music in the French Quarter and this was the best way to do it.  Tickets are $35-45 if you pre-order them online but if you wait in line it is only $15-20.


City Tour– We took a bus tour around to the different sights and neighborhoods in New Orleans. We were able to tour a cemetery, see where the levies broke and took pictures of the garden district.

If you want to know more about where I went and what I saw, check out my itinerary in a follow up post. Until then, Laissez les bons temps rouler (Let the good times roll!)

Leave a Reply

