Street Art

Graffiti. Tagging. Defacement. Street Art.

For some reason I have always been fascinated by murals and graffiti. The idea of taking a large space and filling it with color, lines and meaning is intriguing. Throughout history street art has represented a history, a culture and a universal representation of life and events that are usually swept under the carpet. Here are some examples of awesome art I have seen in the street:

247 248

San Juan, PR. Most recently when I went to Puerto Rico we were walking the streets of Old San Juan during the Fiesta de San Sebastian and many people were stopping to take pictures. I noticed these painting on the wall and decided to take of picture of it myself. My favorite part is of the door that is painted as the Puerto Rican flag. I then bought a t-shirt from the festival that had the same image on it. How kitschy.

350 (2)New York, New York. The fast paced, concrete jungle at the center of the world, New York is known for many things and I would like to think that street art is one of them. Here is a picture of a guy creating the New York skyline with cheap materials along the side of the road. I was fascinated by how quickly he made it, which I know they are trained to do, but I was so impressed we ended up buying one.

IMG_1360Sevilla, Spain. On my way to work or school everyday I would walk past this painting. I love stencil graffiti because it requires so much precision and layering. Also, I like that it was a flamenco dancer, the iconic image of Spain. Unfortunately when I went back in 2013 it wasn’t there anymore.

161 163 164These are other examples of murals in Sevilla. This is at a skate park along the Puente Cristo de la Expiracion.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESBuzios, Brazil. In Buzios one day we went to the beach but it ended up raining and ruining our plans. But at the entrance to the beach the walks were covered with drawings and designs.

Milwaukee, WI. Here is a mural on Milwaukee’s South Side near my work. I drive past it everyday and I like how it represents important leaders in Latino and African American culture, both in the US and abroad.

Leave a Reply

