TBT: Happy New Year!

Oddly enough this year many of the holidays fell on Thursdays so lucky for me I get to continue this segment for one more. In response to Facebook’s sad attempt to recap my year in a randomly generated slideshow that I was unamused by I have decided to create my own. So here is a recap of the year 2014 by yours truly:

January

We were “wigging out” for Brenda’s birthday as my friends and I started our year of golden, and “half golden” birthdays. And now this year we will be going to Puerto Rico for her birthday! Stay tuned for those blog posts!

February

I feel like February is the shortest but the longest month. Usually it is bitter cold outside and the days are dark and nothing very fun happens. And apparently nothing did because I cannot find something noteworthy that I recorded for that time. So let’s continue on.

March

This French teacher’s birthday fell on Mardi Gras so you know we had to go all out! We went to Turner Hall where the radio station 88nine hosted a party and performances with catered food from Maxie’s Southern Comfort. The food was delicious, the music was great and of course we had a good time!

April

Vegas baby! A few friends and I spent “spring break” in Vegas. It was a fun filled time where we slept very little and ate a lot at lunch buffets. We walked the strip, took a gondola ride and danced until dawn, just to be at Rehab club a few hours later. It was definitely a great time!

  

May

My friends and I always seem to have themed costume parties. This was a 90s themed party so we were rocking out to boy bands and reliving our childhood. We always set up a photo booth with props and I have so many of these pictures it isn’t even funny. Here is one of my favorites:

June

The most exciting thing for me this year overall was the World Cup. I enjoyed the first half of the games here in the US and the rest of the games in Brazil. I spent many hours sitting on the couch cheering and, especially for US games, I walked down the street to some bars to enjoy it with hundreds of fans. Here was the last game I watched in the States, US vs Germany. My friends whose grandparents are from Germany were representing their heritage but cleverly brought US flags so that they wouldn’t make any enemies. This was a very important game that the US ended up losing but they were able to advance to the next round. However, if you are going to lose, it might as well be to the Champs, right Brazil?

July

BRAAAAAAAAZZZZZZZZZZZZIIIIIIIILLLLLLLLLLLLLL! Enough said. This was an adventure of a lifetime and I know I will be going back, before my VISA runs out.

   

Oh, and I had my golden birthday, 26 on the 26th. (That’s me eating crawfish)

 

August

We went to Chicago for Jeanne’s Bachelorette party (not pictured since she was not very photogenic the next day). We had a lot of fun dancing to the wee hours of the night and then we had Captain Sosa drive us up and down the river in the morning.

September

I started the idea for this blog! I had finished reading the book “The Happiness Project” and thought of something that I might enjoy doing. So I just started typing away, and a month later I had one of my pieces published on Huffington Post! I guess if you put yourself out there, things will come back around to you, whether you believe in karma or not.

October

Halloween is always a time for craziness and my fiends and I are no different. We all attended a Zumba event and went in a group costume dressed as the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. Our costumes for sure were the best and we celebrated our awesomeness by getting pizza afterwards, in true TMNT style. Turtle power!

November

I went to see the Broadway production of The Lion King. It was a fantastic show and was definitely worth the wait. The set and costume design was very imaginative and made the movie come to life. You can read more about the show in my previous post!

December

We went to see Cirque du Soleil and it was an incredible show! The stuns were jaw-dropping and it was one of the most entertaining shows I have ever seen. I definitely recommend going to one of these shows if you get the chance; it will be an unforgettable experience.

IMG_0193 IMG_0189 IMG_0195

Overall, 2014 had a lot of highlights! So, 2015, you have a lot to live up to so here’s to making it the best year yet!

 

Ps. Can you think of something I forgot from last year? Add it in the comments.

Leave a Reply

