Coffee Talk: The Best and Worst Cups I’ve had

Good morning! I have started today with my favorite ritual where I squint at a glowing screen as I sip a cup of, nothing else but, coffee. I am not a total coffee snob who has specific preferences, but rather I’m a person that enjoys a warm cup in the morning that tastes good and wakes me up. I’m pretty simple that way. I have, however, had good and not so good experiences with coffee in my travels. I will admit though, that when traveling I rarely complain since I need something to fuel my day other than adrenaline and excitement. So here are some of my best, and worst, experiences throughout the world.

Best

Costa Rican coffee– I was in college and my friend from Costa Rica invited me over one morning to work on a project. I had already had breakfast but he offered me a cup of coffee, which arguably I needed to get the creative juices flowing. He had just come back that summer from Costa Rica and brought home a bag of coffee grounds which he had brewed to perfection. That was about 6 years ago already but I still remember its smooth taste. (For the record, I’m not really a dark roast kind of girl.)

Any cappuccino in Italy– It doesn’t matter the place, literally anywhere. I would say that my favorite was at the bottom of the Spanish Steps in Rome. We had been on our feet for hours after touring Vatican City and it had been drizzling all day. We were tired, cold, wet and without an umbrella. There was a small coffee shop that we stopped into to find refuge from the rain and it was just what we needed. This was the first time I had seen the beautiful designs on the foam that people always get excited about and I would have taken a picture of it if my camera wouldn’t have broken a few days earlier in Florence. So keep it in mind that if you go to Italy, you have to have at least one cappuccino.

Buzios, Brazil– At the hostel we stayed at, breakfast was provided. Every morning I woke up with the sun and went downstairs to enjoy a cup of the freshly made coffee. I sat outside, talked to the neighbor’s horse and drank coffee as I journaled or read a book. It was the scenery that made the coffee but heck, that is what traveling is about!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Worst

Turkish coffee in Greece– We were on a ferry boat that went from the port of Athens to Mykonos and I really hadn’t slept much before we had to rush to get there before 9am. On the ferry I ordered a Turkish coffee because it is usually stronger and flavorful but this was just sludge on the bottom of a cup of lukewarm water. I sat baffled by what I had just received and started to play with it like a child avoiding eating vegetables.Overall it was distinguishing so I went back and ordered something else. In the future I will remember to definitely go with a Frappe. That’s a safe bet.

Cafe Americano from Starbucks in Sevilla– Typically in Spain the coffee is great no matter where you go. The only problem is that restaurants aren’t open until 10 am or so, so if if you need coffee earlier than that you have to make it at home or rely on the American tradition of Starbucks. One day we needed to get on a bus to the airport very early and I realized I needed coffee to function (even though at this time I wasn’t a big coffee drinker). I ordered a cafe americano since I didn’t know any better and it looked like a regular brewed coffee but I didn’t like it in the least. It had no flavor which I couldn’t mask with the heaping amounts of cream and sugar. I waited for it to cool and chugged it down so I wouldn’t have to carry it around. But needless to say, I never ordered that again.

Dubai– No matter where I went I never found a cup that I was looking for. I tried it in hotels, in quaint cafes, in malls, in the old city and wasn’t satisfied anywhere. Finally on the last day that I was there I stopped at Starbucks, which I am not a fan of, but desperate times call for desperate measures. I think you are better off sticking to tea in Dubai.

Lastly, here is an interesting post that I found about different styles of coffee from around that world that I would like to share. You can also visit the webpage from the link below.

Aroundtheworldin31coffeesgen

http://aplus.com/a/how-to-order-coffee-in-26-different-countries

Leave a Reply

