Where to Next?

I have been looking for inspiration lately for blogging and today while reading a history book my mind wandered to think about where I want to travel to next. About a month ago I asked my Facebook friends for suggestions so I started to compile a list. Here, in no particular order, are places that I hope to visit sometime soon.

Canada– Oh Canada. Living in Wisconsin I am so close that I should just take a road trip up to Canada and I could be there in a few hours. My dad was born there so I have always wanted to see what it was like and try to understand why he is so strange. I can’t imagine that it is very different from where I live now but I would like to see for myself.

Mexico– I know that I will get there someday but I want to do it right. I’m not looking to go to Cancun or Puerto Vallarta or another touristy place, but I want to go to places where I can be immersed in the culture of Mexico. I’m up for any suggestions and ready to go at any time.

New York (again)- The first time I went to New York it was only for a weekend, which was mainly busied with wedding events. I know that I could probably spend weeks in New York and still not see or do everything. At least one more trip will help that.

358 452 328

Puerto Rico– Who doesn’t love going to the Caribbean? Puerto Rico is definitely on my places to go since it is easy to travel to and my students have already given me tips on where to go.

Miami– I feel like I have always heard about the nightlife and culture of Miami and it sounds like too much fun.

Brazil (again)- For some reason I completely underestimated this country. It is so huge with so much to offer that after two and a half weeks I felt like I barely did anything there. When I go back I will have to travel to Manaus because I really want to experience the Amazon.

 SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Morocco– When I was studying abroad in Spain, there was a travel company that was always taking college students on a trip to Morocco. Why my friends and I didn’t go still baffles me. It appears to be such a unique country and I am fascinated by their art and architecture.

Egypt– The other country in Africa that I would like to visit would be Egypt. In school we only ever learned about Ancient Egypt and for years I had a picture of Cleopatra on my bedroom wall that I colored with gel pens and where on the border I wrote my name in hieroglyphics. Clearly, I know that there has been much more that has happened in Egypt over the last 2,000 years but it would be awesome to see the pyramids and witness some “really old stuff.”

Italy (again)- Speaking of old stuff, I would love to go back to Italy. I was there for a week and spent a few days in Florence and a few more in Rome and Vatican City. We saw everything that you would expect to see; Michelangelo’s David and the Sistine Chapel, the Trevi fountain, the Colosseum, etc. but there was still more to do and see. I felt really comfortable in Italy and it is a very welcoming country.

florence

This list keeps growing of places I would like to visit but maybe you can help me decide where I should go next!

Leave a Reply

